Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]

• Pages:
Passive income is a euphemism for unearned income - the most damaging of all income sources; The Great Real Estate Boom Ahead seminar, delivered by Australia's leading property spruiker Dymphna Boholt
Topic Started: 30 Aug 2013, 04:44 PM (2,462 Views)
John Frum
Member Avatar

foxbat101
1 Sep 2013, 10:06 AM
Again it's just supply and demand.
If there was no supply for rental property, landlords would soon disappear.
Peter
:pop:
What utter drivel.
"It were not best that we should all think alike; it is difference of opinion that makes horse races." - Mark Twain on why he avoids discussing house prices over at MacroBusiness.
"Buy land, they're not making any more of it." - Georgist Land Tax proponent Mark Twain laughing in his grave at humourless idiots like skamy that continually use this quip to justify housing bubbles.
Profile "REPLY WITH QUOTE" Go to top

themoops
Member Avatar
Ruby Member
I think foxbat is now the dumbest person on APF, Pig Iron is second. Or maybe BP. Close one there.
stinkbug omosessuale

Frank Castle is a liar and a criminal. He will often deliberately take people out of context and use straw man arguments.
Frank finally and unintentionally gives it up and admits he got where he is, primarily via dumb luck!
See here
Property will be 50-70% off by 2016.

Pig Iron
Member Avatar
Bogan scum

themoops
1 Sep 2013, 10:51 AM
I think foxbat is now the dumbest person on APF, Pig Iron is second. Or maybe BP. Close one there.
yeah right, you choose a dead end industry and hold off buying a house till your almost 40 in the hope of a crash that never comes, but somehow i'm the stupid one??

if that's stupid, i hope i never end up as smart as you loser.
peter fraser
31 Aug 2013, 09:20 AM
interest on bank deposits is unearned income enabled by the so called rentier class. Anyone who earns interest is also a rentier.
not to mention share holders getting dividends. burn them all at the stake!!!

honestly this whole article is the most retarded load of shit. if you are smart enough to earn money using your wits investing it, it IS "earned"
Edited by Pig Iron, 1 Sep 2013, 12:07 PM.
I am the love child of Tony Abbott and Pauline Hanson

herbie
Member Avatar

As a dude what's started thinking about his retirement, I've pretty much accepted that I've gott'a get passive/'unearned' income from somewhere - 'N if it ain't rental property or shares or bank interest (though the latter's not looking too good these days) then it'll still be from me younger fellow tax payer by way of a guv gifted handout.
Edited by herbie, 1 Sep 2013, 12:32 PM.
A Professional Demographer to an amateur demographer: "negative natural increase will never outweigh the positive net migration"

John Frum
Member Avatar

Pig Iron
1 Sep 2013, 12:00 PM
yeah right, you choose a dead end industry and hold off buying a house till your almost 40 in the hope of a crash that never comes, but somehow i'm the stupid one??

if that's stupid, i hope i never end up as smart as you loser.

not to mention share holders getting dividends. burn them all at the stake!!!

honestly this whole article is the most retarded load of shit. if you are smart enough to earn money using your wits investing it, it IS "earned"

Ok, so a profession without a supply side shortage where you can earn up to 800 bucks a day is dead-end?

It's a funny world when people are surprised at how much I.T professionals can earn, but in the same breath think that paying over a million bucks for an average 3 bed house in Sydney where these sorts of people live is totally normal.

And the problem with investment income is when the losers cry TBTF and expect a bailout from those wise enough to earm money through more traditional means (i.e. their labour) when it turns out there's no pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.
"It were not best that we should all think alike; it is difference of opinion that makes horse races." - Mark Twain on why he avoids discussing house prices over at MacroBusiness.
"Buy land, they're not making any more of it." - Georgist Land Tax proponent Mark Twain laughing in his grave at humourless idiots like skamy that continually use this quip to justify housing bubbles.

Pig Iron
Member Avatar
Bogan scum

Soul Torpor
1 Sep 2013, 12:32 PM

Ok, so a profession without a supply side shortage where you can earn up to 800 bucks a day is dead-end?

It's a funny world when people are surprised at how much I.T professionals can earn, but in the same breath think that paying over a million bucks for an average 3 bed house in Sydney where these sorts of people live is totally normal.

And the problem with investment income is when the losers cry TBTF and expect a bailout from those wise enough to earm money through more traditional means (i.e. their labour) when it turns out there's no pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.
$800/day is chump change for short term contracts. my point stands.

there's zero security in IT, it's a dead end unless you're something really special. you can't all be special.
I am the love child of Tony Abbott and Pauline Hanson

doubleview
Member Avatar

Pig Iron
1 Sep 2013, 12:38 PM

there's zero security in IT, it's a dead end unless you're something really special. you can't all be special.
I wouldn't say its dead end but its going to get a shit load more competitive.

you go talk to a few kids and see what they all want to do, most want to get into IT related jobs.

They all want to be the next mark zuckerberg!!

Its fucken sickening!!

No kids want to be tradies anymore, very worrying.

I'm thinking a half smart kid that aspires to get a trade in say plumbing or something like that will make a motza in the future.

A half smart kid could have a shit load of tradies working for him in no time.

It might be a slog for the first few years however imo it offers a shit load greater chance of success rather than IT.

John Frum
Member Avatar

Pig Iron
1 Sep 2013, 12:38 PM

Wow, you just flerped the biggest derp I've ever seen, amazing!

Posted Image

Black Panther
Default APF Avatar

Sure there is a future in IT in India, China and the Eastern Euro countries, but in Aus its an unwinding industry for sure.

And I have been working in the industry since the mid 1980's so I have seen close up whats happening.

Any Newbie to the Industry is highly unlikely to stay in the Industry for their entire working life.

Very sad actually.

Is Mospy on this list ? http://www.newtechusa.com/ppi/talent.asp

herbie
Member Avatar

doubleview
1 Sep 2013, 12:55 PM
No kids want to be tradies anymore, very worrying.

I'm thinking a half smart kid that aspires to get a trade in say plumbing or something like that will make a motza in the future.
Pretty reasonable chance you are right I reckon DBV. As I said to me mate what got the chop at work recently: "You were originally a tradie and know what this fifth finger that sticks out at an ungainly angle from your hand is for - So I reckon you'll be right."

Mental note to self: Suggest my smartarse spivvy little nephew considers doing a trade at 18 on leaving school and going back as a 'mature' age student at 22 when he'll have realised REAL work sucks and be motivated to get good grades - Nothing like having two strings to your bow I reckon ...
A Professional Demographer to an amateur demographer: "negative natural increase will never outweigh the positive net migration"

1 user reading this topic (1 Guest and 0 Anonymous)
Go to Next Page
« Previous Topic · Australian Property Forum · Next Topic »
  • Pages:

Australian Property Forum is an economics and finance forum dedicated to discussion of Australian and global real estate markets and macroeconomics, including house prices, housing affordability, and the likelihood of a property crash. Is there an Australian housing bubble? Will house prices crash, boom or stagnate? Is the Australian property market a pyramid scheme or Ponzi scheme? Can house prices really rise forever? These are the questions we address on Australian Property Forum, the premier real estate site for property bears, bulls, investors, and speculators. Members may also discuss matters related to finance, modern monetary theory (MMT), debt deflation, cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin Ethereum and Ripple, property investing, landlords, tenants, debt consolidation, reverse home equity loans, the housing shortage, negative gearing, capital gains tax, land tax and macro prudential regulation.

Forum Rules: The main forum may be used to discuss property, politics, economics and finance, precious metals, crypto currency, debt management, generational divides, climate change, sustainability, alternative energy, environmental topics, human rights or social justice issues, and other topics on a case by case basis. Topics unsuitable for the main forum may be discussed in the lounge. You agree you won't use this forum to post material that is illegal, private, defamatory, pornographic, excessively abusive or profane, threatening, or invasive of another forum member's privacy. Don't post NSFW content. Racist or ethnic slurs and homophobic comments aren't tolerated. Accusing forum members of serious crimes is not permitted. Accusations, attacks, abuse or threats, litigious or otherwise, directed against the forum or forum administrators aren't tolerated and will result in immediate suspension of your account for a number of days depending on the severity of the attack. No spamming or advertising in the main forum. Spamming includes repeating the same message over and over again within a short period of time. Don't post ALL CAPS thread titles. The Advertising and Promotion Subforum may be used to promote your Australian property related business or service. Active members of the forum who contribute regularly to main forum discussions may also include a link to their product or service in their signature block. Members are limited to one actively posting account each. A secondary account may be used solely for the purpose of maintaining a blog as long as that account no longer posts in threads. Any member who believes another member has violated these rules may report the offending post using the report button.

Australian Property Forum complies with ASIC Regulatory Guide 162 regarding Internet Discussion Sites. Australian Property Forum is not a provider of financial advice. Australian Property Forum does not in any way endorse the views and opinions of its members, nor does it vouch for for the accuracy or authenticity of their posts. It is not permitted for any Australian Property Forum member to post in the role of a licensed financial advisor or to post as the representative of a financial advisor. It is not permitted for Australian Property Forum members to ask for or offer specific buy, sell or hold recommendations on particular stocks, as a response to a request of this nature may be considered the provision of financial advice.

Views expressed on this forum are not representative of the forum owners. The forum owners are not liable or responsible for comments posted. Information posted does not constitute financial or legal advice. The forum owners accept no liability for information posted, nor for consequences of actions taken on the basis of that information. By visiting or using this forum, members and guests agree to be bound by the Zetaboards Terms of Use.

This site may contain copyright material (i.e. attributed snippets from online news reports), the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. Such content is posted to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democratic, scientific, and social justice issues. This constitutes 'fair use' of such copyright material as provided for in section 107 of US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed for research and educational purposes only. If you wish to use this material for purposes that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Such material is credited to the true owner or licensee. We will remove from the forum any such material upon the request of the owners of the copyright of said material, as we claim no credit for such material.

For more information go to Limitations on Exclusive Rights: Fair Use

Privacy Policy: Australian Property Forum uses third party advertising companies to serve ads when you visit our site. These third party advertising companies may collect and use information about your visits to Australian Property Forum as well as other web sites in order to provide advertisements about goods and services of interest to you. If you would like more information about this practice and to know your choices about not having this information used by these companies, click here: Google Advertising Privacy FAQ

Australian Property Forum is hosted by Zetaboards. Please refer also to the Zetaboards Privacy Policy