Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]

Affordable Housing Party; Now you can directly vote for lowering housing costs
Topic Started: 24 Aug 2017, 05:02 PM (2,974 Views)
Rufus
Member Avatar

Rat
26 Aug 2017, 08:52 AM
When baby boomers were buying their first homes in their 20s and 30s, those homes were far more expensive than the homes purchased by their predecessors.

But they got on with it, without bleating and wailing. Often they bought tiny run-down homes with an outdoor dunny in the sticks and gradually upgraded over their lifetimes. That's something our current generation of precious princesses believe they're too good for. Today's FHBs expect the big modern fancy home in a great location straight off the bat, without having to work up to it over an entire lifetime like the boomers did.

The boomers were also conscripted to fight in Vietnam, they had lower lifespans, the threat of another world war (Cold War) breaking out at any time, worse medical treatment, inferior technology, they suffered through recessions, 20% interest rates etc.

Gen-Y are just a bunch of self-entitled whingers. They don't seem to understand that the baby boomers spent a lifetime building up their current wealth. They didn't have all that wealth when they were in their 20s and 30s. No generation can expect to be as wealthy in their 20s as they will be in their 60s. It takes a lifetime to build wealth.

In a few decades from now when Gen-Y are entering their retirement, having inherited all that wealth as the boomers die, and built up some of their own wealth on top, it will be the new batch of 20-30 year-olds whinging and bleating about how Gen-Y had it so easy, and how it's not fair that house prices were so much cheaper in 2017.
And they will point out that Gen Y had the lowest interest rates ever seen, making their loans low cost obligations.
Take risks - if you win you will become wealthy, if you lose you will become wise
Profile "REPLY WITH QUOTE" Go to top

herbie
Member Avatar

What Sydney and Melbourne do not seem to have an abundance of is free standing 'acceptable' homes within an 'acceptable' commute of their CBDs for an 'acceptable' multiple of the single person's income.

And it would also seem unlikely to me at least, that they are going to get an abundance of such homes any time soon, if ever.

However, what Sydney and Melbourne DO seem to have an abundance of is rather disgruntled 30 something to 40 something year old 'smarties' who genuinely tooled themselves over by waiting for a decade to buy such homes in what would now seem to me to be the false hope that they would become abundant in Sydney and Melbourne.
Edited by herbie, 26 Aug 2017, 09:45 AM.
A Professional Demographer to an amateur demographer: "negative natural increase will never outweigh the positive net migration"

DragonGM
Member Avatar

Australia would be a much better country (and society) if Sydney and Melbourne did not exist.

Poontang
Member Avatar

Rufus
26 Aug 2017, 08:23 AM
Voting for these fringe loony parties is a complete waste of a vote.
If people are so unhappy they should be active in a major party and influence a change of policies in that party.
The people who vote for the loony fringe parties for the most part feel there is no difference between the 2 major parties and trying to change policies of the parties to receive lip service only has given rise to the loony fringe parties.

The fringe loony party gets enough votes to win a seat and concessions are forthcoming to the fringe party in a slim margin majority help parliament.
There are some people who seem angry and continuously look for conflict.
Walk away, the battle they are fighting isn't with you, it's with themselves.

The first lesson of economics is scarcity: There is not enough of anything to satisfy all who want it.
The first lesson of politics is to disregard the first lesson of economics. ~ Thomas Sowell.

Who was the fool, who the wise man, who the beggar or the Emperor? Whether rich or poor, all are equal in death.

Rufus
Member Avatar

Poontang
26 Aug 2017, 12:26 PM
The people who vote for the loony fringe parties for the most part feel there is no difference between the 2 major parties and trying to change policies of the parties to receive lip service only has given rise to the loony fringe parties.

The fringe loony party gets enough votes to win a seat and concessions are forthcoming to the fringe party in a slim margin majority help parliament.
Like the Palmer United Party did?
Wasn't that wonderful display of democracy at work.

The reason why our politicians appear so hopeless is because they can't get anything through without having to appease these loonies who ask for the most ridiculous amendments to bills. We are still paying for the amendments caused during the Gillard years by independents who used their one vote to hold the nation to ransom.
Tony Windsor et al.
Take risks - if you win you will become wealthy, if you lose you will become wise

Poontang
Member Avatar

Rufus
26 Aug 2017, 12:36 PM
Like the Palmer United Party did?
Wasn't that wonderful display of democracy at work.

The reason why our politicians appear so hopeless is because they can't get anything through without having to appease these loonies who ask for the most ridiculous amendments to bills. We are still paying for the amendments caused during the Gillard years by independents who used their one vote to hold the nation to ransom.
Tony Windsor et al.
I still maintain the loony parties have risen due to the dissatisfaction in the major parties.
There are some people who seem angry and continuously look for conflict.
Walk away, the battle they are fighting isn't with you, it's with themselves.

The first lesson of economics is scarcity: There is not enough of anything to satisfy all who want it.
The first lesson of politics is to disregard the first lesson of economics. ~ Thomas Sowell.

Who was the fool, who the wise man, who the beggar or the Emperor? Whether rich or poor, all are equal in death.

Jimbo
Member Avatar

herbie
26 Aug 2017, 08:43 AM
So come on Jimbo, lay it on us ... How do we all have what we all want (and obviously deserve) within 15 minutes drive of the Sydney CBD for $240K please?
I have never said that everybody should be able to buy a $240k house, 15 minutes from Sydney CBD.

But I do think that giving a state subsidy to people who already own a house so that they can buy more ready made houses and contribute bugger all to the economy, is wrong.
Matthew, 30 Jan 2016, 09:21 AM Your simplistic view is so flawed it is not worth debating. The current oversupply will be swallowed in 12 months. By the time dumb shits like you realise this prices will already be :?: rising.

herbie
Member Avatar

DragonGM
26 Aug 2017, 09:47 AM
Australia would be a much better country (and society) if Sydney and Melbourne did not exist.
They need to take steps to address their 'issues' pretty obviously.

And part of addressing those issues would seem to me, for their pollies and policy makers to be a bit more up front with their disgruntled 30 something to 40 something year olds I mentioned, that quite actively taking steps to bring on a severe (or even moderate?) downwards housing market correction just mightn't really be a good idea - And why.

With a bit more candour along those lines at least potentially assisting some of those disgruntled 30 something to 40 something year olds come to the conclusion that if they want a home that they actually do own in their retirement, they might just need to start thinking about alternative means of achieving it than continuing to hang out for some sort of truly dramatic downwards correction in prices. (Even if only as a Plan B with them still continuing to genuinely hope for a 'crash' as their personally genuinely preferred Plan A.)

Hmmm - Just my thought, but short of any such crash ACTUALLY materialising, I suspect the following gen (Gen Z I believe?) just might not be so badly impacted with them presumably having observed and learned from their 'elders' mistake/s.
Jimbo
26 Aug 2017, 01:48 PM
I have never said that everybody should be able to buy a $240k house, 15 minutes from Sydney CBD.

But I do think that giving a state subsidy to people who already own a house so that they can buy more ready made houses and contribute bugger all to the economy, is wrong.
Given NG IMO has been pretty much 'done to death' already Jimbo, I'll make two points on it at this time is all:

1. If current ALP policy on it were to be implemented (and if I recall correct?!?), it's been estimated that it might negatively impact housing prices overall by some 2%, and

2. As best I could make of it, Ken Henry seemed to be of the (presumably rather considered) opinion that at some times (and in some markets presumably?) it's a handy thing to have; Tho at other times it's not. (Hmmm - Think his actual recommendation on it went something along the lines "When the nation solves its housing supply issue, we can drop it" - Well, presumably at least until they reckon the nation has a housing supply issue again perhaps???
Edited by herbie, 26 Aug 2017, 07:10 PM.
A Professional Demographer to an amateur demographer: "negative natural increase will never outweigh the positive net migration"

Jimbo
Member Avatar

herbie
26 Aug 2017, 06:36 PM
Given NG IMO has been pretty much 'done to death' already Jimbo, I'll make two points on it at this time is all:

1. If current ALP policy on it were to be implemented (and if I recall correct?!?), it's been estimated that it might negatively impact housing prices overall by some 2%, and

2. As best I could make of it, Ken Henry seemed to be of the (presumably rather considered) opinion that at some times (and in some markets presumably?) it's a handy thing to have; Tho at other times it's not. (Hmmm - Think his actual recommendation on it went something along the lines "When the nation solves its housing supply issue, we can drop it" - Well, presumably at least until they reckon the nation has a housing supply issue again perhaps???
Unless or until NG is removed, nobody will know the impact on prices.

But what I do know, is that if you dish out an incentive to people who already have bread so that they can buy up all of the remaining bread, the price of bread is going to go up.

I can see an argument for NG when it comes to building new places.

Give the homeowner an incentive to chuck some money into new housing, increase the housing stock.

But giving NG to some 60 year old welder so that he can buy the old fibro from under the feet of the young couple who were about to sign on the dotted line and move in and do it up?

Come on Herbie.

It just ain't right.
Matthew, 30 Jan 2016, 09:21 AM Your simplistic view is so flawed it is not worth debating. The current oversupply will be swallowed in 12 months. By the time dumb shits like you realise this prices will already be :?: rising.

Rufus
Member Avatar

Jimbo
26 Aug 2017, 07:46 PM
Unless or until NG is removed, nobody will know the impact on prices.

But what I do know, is that if you dish out an incentive to people who already have bread so that they can buy up all of the remaining bread, the price of bread is going to go up.

I can see an argument for NG when it comes to building new places.

Give the homeowner an incentive to chuck some money into new housing, increase the housing stock.

But giving NG to some 60 year old welder so that he can buy the old fibro from under the feet of the young couple who were about to sign on the dotted line and move in and do it up?

Come on Herbie.

It just ain't right.
On the other hand more rental supply helps keep rents down.
Can't have it both ways.

By the way removing NG won't make much difference.

1 user reading this topic (1 Guest and 0 Anonymous)
DealsFor.me - The best sales, coupons, and discounts for you
Go to Next Page
« Previous Topic · Australian Property Forum · Next Topic »

Australian Property Forum is an economics and finance forum dedicated to discussion of Australian and global real estate markets and macroeconomics, including house prices, housing affordability, and the likelihood of a property crash. Is there an Australian housing bubble? Will house prices crash, boom or stagnate? Is the Australian property market a pyramid scheme or Ponzi scheme? Can house prices really rise forever? These are the questions we address on Australian Property Forum, the premier real estate site for property bears, bulls, investors, and speculators. Members may also discuss matters related to finance, modern monetary theory (MMT), debt deflation, cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin Ethereum and Ripple, property investing, landlords, tenants, debt consolidation, reverse home equity loans, the housing shortage, negative gearing, capital gains tax, land tax and macro prudential regulation.

Forum Rules: The main forum may be used to discuss property, politics, economics and finance, precious metals, crypto currency, debt management, generational divides, climate change, sustainability, alternative energy, environmental topics, human rights or social justice issues, and other topics on a case by case basis. Topics unsuitable for the main forum may be discussed in the lounge. You agree you won't use this forum to post material that is illegal, private, defamatory, pornographic, excessively abusive or profane, threatening, or invasive of another forum member's privacy. Don't post NSFW content. Racist or ethnic slurs and homophobic comments aren't tolerated. Accusing forum members of serious crimes is not permitted. Accusations, attacks, abuse or threats, litigious or otherwise, directed against the forum or forum administrators aren't tolerated and will result in immediate suspension of your account for a number of days depending on the severity of the attack. No spamming or advertising in the main forum. Spamming includes repeating the same message over and over again within a short period of time. Don't post ALL CAPS thread titles. The Advertising and Promotion Subforum may be used to promote your Australian property related business or service. Active members of the forum who contribute regularly to main forum discussions may also include a link to their product or service in their signature block. Members are limited to one actively posting account each. A secondary account may be used solely for the purpose of maintaining a blog as long as that account no longer posts in threads. Any member who believes another member has violated these rules may report the offending post using the report button.

Australian Property Forum complies with ASIC Regulatory Guide 162 regarding Internet Discussion Sites. Australian Property Forum is not a provider of financial advice. Australian Property Forum does not in any way endorse the views and opinions of its members, nor does it vouch for for the accuracy or authenticity of their posts. It is not permitted for any Australian Property Forum member to post in the role of a licensed financial advisor or to post as the representative of a financial advisor. It is not permitted for Australian Property Forum members to ask for or offer specific buy, sell or hold recommendations on particular stocks, as a response to a request of this nature may be considered the provision of financial advice.

Views expressed on this forum are not representative of the forum owners. The forum owners are not liable or responsible for comments posted. Information posted does not constitute financial or legal advice. The forum owners accept no liability for information posted, nor for consequences of actions taken on the basis of that information. By visiting or using this forum, members and guests agree to be bound by the Zetaboards Terms of Use.

This site may contain copyright material (i.e. attributed snippets from online news reports), the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. Such content is posted to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democratic, scientific, and social justice issues. This constitutes 'fair use' of such copyright material as provided for in section 107 of US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed for research and educational purposes only. If you wish to use this material for purposes that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner. Such material is credited to the true owner or licensee. We will remove from the forum any such material upon the request of the owners of the copyright of said material, as we claim no credit for such material.

For more information go to Limitations on Exclusive Rights: Fair Use

Privacy Policy: Australian Property Forum uses third party advertising companies to serve ads when you visit our site. These third party advertising companies may collect and use information about your visits to Australian Property Forum as well as other web sites in order to provide advertisements about goods and services of interest to you. If you would like more information about this practice and to know your choices about not having this information used by these companies, click here: Google Advertising Privacy FAQ

Australian Property Forum is hosted by Zetaboards. Please refer also to the Zetaboards Privacy Policy